NDP: Funding for good deeds!

Excuse me while I take this moment to boast… :3

I just convinced the leaders of a major political organization to give us $450 toward printing a set of “University of Toronto NDP” t-shirts, to be worn for club events, canvassing, and the upcoming Toronto Centre by-election.

It’ll have our very own logo printed on the front. And of course, that deal comes along with a graphic designer to design a brand new logo for us (below).

This will serve as the official "unveiling" of the new logo. Thoughts? (Yes, of course it's orange.)

This will serve as the official “unveiling” of the new logo. Thoughts? (Yes, of course it’s orange.)

Best part: Since the rest of the exec wasn’t required to do any work except for giving the final approval of the t-shirt design, I get the credit for making this project happen.

[Not that I’m doing this for the glory, but it’s always nice to get personal credit for a project once in a while. After all, most of my successes were team efforts on much larger projects, so the credit goes to the organization or team I worked on. And that’s totally fine, of course, but a little credit now and then is nice.]

AAAAAAND it gets better: our club doesn’t have to pay a penny for it.

All I had to do was list some of the positive “community organizing” things I’ve done to help the NDP in the past year or two (for both the campus club and for Toronto Centre) — AND BAM, we have credentials! 🙂

It’s really nice to having an actual record of “good things I’ve done” that you can brandish in exchange for funding. Teehee. Well, not just funding, I guess. It’s also an investment on their part in exchange for the promise of more “good things I will do.” And it does require me to have actually done some things in the past.

All this means is that I have to do more things to repay their investment. But whatever. As if that’s going to be difficult, hah. I was planning on doing more things for the NDP anyway. 😉

//end boast moment

Now… this is where I pause to shamelessly plug the NDP:

If you’re a student at the University of Toronto, and you’re sympathetic toward the NDP’s policies, why not come get involved with the campus club? A handful of the most dedicated members will also receive beautiful orange t-shirts that they can show off and wear at NDP events! 😉

 

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Share your thoughts!